Traitors Finally Brought to Book

I know this is historywithatwist, but in my own small way I’m making a little history of my own. This is a big day for me. My third Liam Mannion novel, A Time of Traitors, is now live on Amazon. It has taken me almost nine months to write. That’s longer than I spent on either Tan or The Golden Grave, but then I didn’t have as many issues with those books.

At first, I was very clear on what course to take. I had a good, strong opening scene. Shortly after that I wrote another strong scene that was a potential opener. And, eh, then I wrote another one. It was like waiting for a bus to come along only for three to arrive together. I was spoiled for choice.

I scratched my head for a while and then realised that the only way I would know which to open the story with was to write them all and rewrite all the subsequent scenes (which also meant slotting in the other two potential openers into the book). I had to do this three times to see which way would work best.  As you might imagine, that took quite a bit of time and quite a lot of hair pulling on my behalf.

But I’m happy with the result – I just hope readers are, too.

The other thing that caused me some delay was the fact that I managed to lose seven thousand words of the story one day while on the train to work. That was a bit of a sickener, no doubt about it.

But here we are, nearly nine months later, and my little baby is in the world. If you ever do get around to reading her, see if you can spot the other two potential openers and let me know.

Here’s the blurb for A Time of Traitors, to see if you’re interested…

It’s 1921, and Liam Mannion is embroiled in the murky world of informers and spies; the IRA has announced a truce, and the British and Irish leaderships are taking their first tentative steps toward signing a treaty.

Liam and his fiancee, Kate, are tasked with finding republican rotten apples, some of whom are intent on foiling the fledgling peace talks. For Kate, the Brigade Intelligence Officer, that means asking awkward questions of trusted allies – questions that reveal a traitor. For Liam, it means travelling to London and collaborating with the British police to find a killer.

As the search unfolds, a devastating revelation from Liam’s past will make the hunt more personal–and deadly–than even he could imagine.

 

Normal historywithatwist service will resume with my next post.

About historywithatwist

I am an Associate Editor with a national newspaper. I have a keen interest in history and in writing. I have published one novel, Tan, and am currently working on a sequel
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Traitors Finally Brought to Book

  1. A 3rd Liam Mannion story. Brilliant! I lovethe cover too

  2. Lindy Moone says:

    Reblogged this on Belly-up! and commented:
    It’s a book! Again! (And I’m so envious. Again.) Why are all my “anTROLLogy” authors publishing more than me? Well done, David. (You creep. 😉 )

  3. roberthorvat says:

    Congratulations on the release of ‘A Time of Traitors’.

  4. Congratulations, David. I’m devouring A TIME OF TRAITORS and loving it.

  5. Congratulations … I just shared it on FB …. hope it gets a lot of readers!

    Mary Gottschalk mcg9258@gmail.com 515 633 9258 515 240-8619 (cell) http://marycgottschalk.com/home/ http://marycgottschalk.com/a-fitting-place/

  6. David …

    I just tried to click on the link for the new book … it didn’t work, although the ones for Tan and Golden Grave did. I’m sure most people can figure out how to find Amazon, but thought I’d let you know.

    Mary Gottschalk mcg9258@gmail.com 515 633 9258 515 240-8619 (cell) http://marycgottschalk.com/home/ http://marycgottschalk.com/a-fitting-place/

  7. Sounds wonderful, David. Do you recommend reading them in sequence? Let me know so I can purchase. I spoke with Carol Bodensteiner yesterday who was raving about one of your books (I see that she’s already commented above!). Congratulations.

    • Thanks Mary. They can be read independently. Although, the way A Time of Traitors unfolds, if you do decide to read them, I’d suggest Tan first, then The Golden Grave. Hope you like them 🙂

  8. P. C. Zick says:

    Congratulations, David. I look forward to reading it very soon!

  9. John L. Monk says:

    Reblogged this on John L. Monk and commented:
    Very interesting looking. IRA, spies, intrigue, what’s not to like? I’m a big fan of Lawlor’s history blog, but I have to admit it makes me want to read the first book:
    http://amzn.com/B00BFD4JF8

  10. Congratulations. Such a great book and story as well 🙂

  11. olganm says:

    Good luck! The blurb is very intriguing. I wonder if you could offer the other versions (opening scenes) to readers as part of the promotion…Although I guess you might be able to use some of the ideas in the other versions. It’s a fascinating story of the genesis of your book…

  12. Glad you liked the blurb, Olga. , and thanks for the suggestion about promoting it. 🙂

  13. Ol' Big Jim says:

    Good job, David! I finally got started reading this latest Mannion book and I have to say I’m loving it! Watch for a review very soon!

  14. Thanks Jim – and thanks for dropping by the blog 🙂

Leave a Reply

